Wednesday, April 7, 2010

The shortlists for the NSW Premier's Literary Awards were announced today. They are as follows (with links to any titles which have been reviewed on Aussiereviews). I love awards season :)

The Christina Stead Prize for Fiction

Summertime by J.M. Coetzee

 •Wanting by Richard Flanagan

 •The World Beneath by Cate Kennedy

 •88 Lines about 44 Women by Steven Lang

 •Ransom by David Malouf

 •Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey

Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction

The Water Dreamers: The remarkable history of our dry continent by Dr Michael Cathcart

 •Churchill and Australia by Graham Freudenberg

 •Piano Lessons by Dr Anna Goldsworthy

 •The Wolf by Richard Guilliatt and Peter Hohnen

 •Kill Khalid by Paul McGeough

 •Up from the Mission: Selected Writings by Noel Pearson

Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry

The Sonnet According to 'M' by Jordie Albiston

 •The Darwin Poems by Emily Ballou

 •Storm and Honey by Judith Beveridge

 •The Striped World by Emma Jones

 •White Camel by Morgan Yasbincek

Ethel Turner Prize for Young People's Literature

Hollywood Ending by Kathy Charles

 •Worldshaker by Richard Harland

 •Liar by Justine Larbalestier

 •A Small Free Kiss in the Dark by Glenda Millard

 •Vulture's Gate by Kirsty Murray

 •When the Hipchicks Went to War by Pamela Rushby

Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children's Literature

Krakatoa Lighthouse by Allan Baillie

 •Grace by Morris Gleitzman

 •Alive in the Death Zone by Lincoln Hall

 •The Billionaire's Curse by Richard Newsome

 •The Hero of Little Street by Gregory Rogers

 •Harry and Hopper by Margaret Wild and Freya Blackwood

Community Relations Commission Award

Leave to Remain: A Memoir by Dr Abbas El Zein

 •Reclaiming Patriotism: Nation-Building for Australian Progressives by Dr Tim Soutphommasane

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing

Things We Didn't See Coming by Steven Amsterdam

 •Hollywood Ending by Kathy Charles

 •Document Z by Andrew Coome

 •Siddon Rock by Glenda Guest

 •Little White Slips by Karen Hitchcock

 •The Ice Age by Kirsten Reed

Script Writing Award

Bright Star by Jane Campion

 •East West 101: Episode 13 by Kristen Dunphy and Michael Miller

 •Mary and Max by Adam Elliot

 •Tangle: Episode 1, Yellow Amendments by Fiona Seres

 •Fairweather Man by Aviva Ziegler and Veronica Fury

 •Samson and Delilah by Warwick Thornton

NSW Premier's Prize for Literary Scholarship

Robert Louis Stevenson in the Pacific: Travel, Empire and the Author's Profession by Dr Roslyn Jolly
Networked Language by Professor Philip Mead
Literary Activists: Writer-intellectuals and Australian Public Life by Dr Brigid Rooney

Winners in each category will be announced on May 17.  NSW Residents are also invited to vote in the People's Choice award. you can also read the judges' comments about each of the shortlisted titles on the awards website.